stillcup.blogg.se

How to change mutiple mp3 tag mac
How to change mutiple mp3 tag mac











how to change mutiple mp3 tag mac
  1. #How to change mutiple mp3 tag mac how to#
  2. #How to change mutiple mp3 tag mac portable#

Multiple ARTIST fields are easy to work with in Mp3tag, but where it gets tricky is in how your player/software treats them and what it expects. It usually causes few problems there, although you won't be able to search for the artist and come up with that track. Many people just place the featured artist in the track title.

how to change mutiple mp3 tag mac

You might use ALBUMARTIST and then two ARTISTs on each track: Yeah, you usually don't want featured artists to be specified like this in the ARTIST field. One of the things I don't like about how some of my CDs are tagged is the long list of extra track artists. The transcoding is done by a script I wrote that throws away or combines fields into something that works with Rockbox. The tagging of the Mp3 library is much simpler than that of the the FLAC library, because Rockbox doesn't recognize things like multiple artist fields or sort fields for names.

#How to change mutiple mp3 tag mac portable#

My main library is in FLAC, but I keep a separate 'mirror' library of files transcoded to Mp3 for my portable players (all running Rockbox). You may also find that Media Monkey (which I'm unfamiliar with) and your phone treat tagging differently, so may have to come up with some compromise or (worst case) keep separate libraries tagged differently. Even the use of ALBUMARTIST isn't always accepted or else isn't treated the same by all players/software. My media player of choice is Media Monkey (and my phone). Thanks all for any help or advice you can give.

how to change mutiple mp3 tag mac

I plan to use Discogs or Musicbrainz for track information, not sure if that's relative to the process. For now please tell me if there is a standard to follow for tagging various artist/ multiple artist compilations or how you do it.Īlso, please tell me if MP3Tag can automatically tag multiple artists separately in a track and how I go about doing it. I have plenty of other examples if they're needed. If I shuffle my music do I have an increased chance of hearing the same song again because it is listed under multiple different artists? Will that throw off my track count in a Media Player?Ģ. I was thinking about listing each artist separately as I described above but I have these questions:ġ.If using "featuring" in the track title is the standard I guess I could make it work but I hate it otherwise. When the track information is scrolling across an MP3 player or phone it's ridiculous to have that many artists listed. Renee Zellweger, Queen Latifah, Richard Gere, John C. I really don't like the idea of tagging the track Catherine Zeta-Jones feat.If I want to listen to every song I have by a certain artist it would be convenient just to search for their name, not their name and every variation of the artist lists that include their name. All of those people are not one artist.Chicago - Music From the Miramax Motion Picture, Track 1, artists are:Ĭatherine Zeta-Jones Renée Zellweger Queen Latifah Richard Gere John C. More importantly, can MP3 tag do this automatically (separate artists using some kind of predefined separator)?Īlong these same lines I have another example of an album that I don't know what to do with. What I wonder in the case of the 50 Cent album is if it makes more sense to assign multiple track artists:

how to change mutiple mp3 tag mac

I'm aware that Album Artist is meant to provide a "cleaner" way to browse through artists. I have a 50 Cent CD with several different artists listed, here's an example of a few: Is there such a thing as a standard for various/multiple artist tags? I intend to follow the Uberstandard for most of my tagging because it's somebody's standard. I am willing to go with a generally accepted standard if there is one, but I can't find it. This is something that's always bothered me and since I'm about to retag my entire collection I'd like to sort it out.

#How to change mutiple mp3 tag mac how to#

I like that.Īnyway I am stuck for how to tag compilations, tracks with featured artists, and tracks with multiple artists. I was a long time user of Tag&Rename which I liked very much but I see that MP3Tag is quite a bit more flexible and gathers much more information. I'm a recent convert to MP3Tag and am still learning just how powerful a tool it is.













How to change mutiple mp3 tag mac